Hand-y Work

One of my favorite things about doing nails is the flat nail art. I love being inspired by people, places, things, and events. But, I have noticed that with the creation of nail stamps and stickers, there are less hand drawn nail art. Though I love the convenience and accuracy of the stamps and stickers, it is sad to see the efforts of hand drawn art decline. I have even noticed many are now comparing the perfection of stamps and stickers to the work of hand drawn nail art–which are far less perfect next to machine-made graphics.

I actually can’t draw well on paper, but when it comes to nails, somehow I draw out more talent. No matter your skill level, I think it is important to practice your drawings. Practice makes perfect. While stickers and stamps are great, don’t forget about the art of hand-drawn nail art.

That’s why, this post is a dedication to hand-drawn nail art. Enjoy!
20120919-220726.jpg Natural nail overlay with CalGel. I drew the lines. This was down for my client during the holidays.
20120919-220743.jpg This is a natural nail overlay using CalGel, again. It is an orange color gradation and I drew the monarch butterfly design.
20120919-220754.jpg Another CalGel natural nail overlay. This is my nails, I did for myself several months back. Sugar skulls! (Sorry the lighting sucks).
20120919-220919.jpg Natural nail overlay using Trump Gel. Deep French done in blue. We went for a fun and funky goldfish // koi design. (Sorry the photo isn’t that great).
20120919-220938.jpg Another natural nail overlay with Trump Gel. Coral deep French with sunflower design. She wanted me to use a color matching her ring.
20120919-234126.jpg This is just regular polish. I used a bunch of China Glaze & O.P.I. glitter polishes . I drew the mermaid, and used Eriko holograms for the “bubbles.”
20120919-234141.jpg I saw this neat design on the app, “Girl’s Pic” and wanted to try it out. This is me, practicing. I used only polish.
20120919-234201.jpg This is a natural nail overlay using CalGel. It is a color gradation (#46) and Purnelle glitter (#001) all over. She is a tourist visiting from Japan, and wanted a “Hawaii themed” design.
20120919-234153.jpg This pedi was done just yesterday on one of my clients, using just polish. I drew the hearts and the ribbons.

20120920-000107.jpg Pedicure done with polish. Nose done with acrylic for 3D. I have a serious panda obsession, and so I did this on my own toes. My regular (pictured here), saw it and wanted me to put them on her toes, too!

I hope this has inspired you all to try out and to practice your hand drawn flat nail art. It is actually a lot of fun, and so much more rewarding. Good luck, and have fun! Email me some of your best, if you like!

Thanks for visiting, and remember to keep your claws modish!

Xoxo,
Stacia

One thought on “Hand-y Work

Leave a Reply

