Dripping Hearts

So…my “special client” came in yesterday and got her nails diiiiiiid. After all the sketches, you might be wondering, “Which sketch / nail design did she choose?” Well…the wait is over!

She picked the very first sketch I did with the dripping design and the hearts!!
ヾ(@⌒ー⌒@)ノ

Since we want it to last, I gave her gel nails. We used CalGel. I did a natural nail overlay on her, except her left hand ring finger. I put a tip extension on that nail to give it a little more length.

She wanted the shape to be more of a point– stiletto nails. We were concerned that they may be too short, but they turned out alright. Her nails were just long enough to create a nice point. I have noticed that the stiletto nails are becoming more and more popular in the U.S. it has been around in Japan for a while now, but since Lady Gaga and Rihanna, I have been seeing it make an appearance and become a request much more now. I guess fashion is cyclical. Remember waaaaaaay back in the days?! I swear some grannies still rock the pointed nails!

Stiletto nails are awesome, but a few tips to remember if you are planning to rock them:

  • Be very careful when you are filing to shape them. Make sure you are careful not to saw your nails– always file left-to-right // right-to-left. File slowly when you get to the stress point area. That is the the halfway point of your whole nail. Where the skin and nail meets on the side. You can weaken the nail and cause cracking if you file top roughly, or “saw” your nails.
  • Do NOT treat your nails as tools; treat them like jewels! Your nails are not meant to do hardwork, so pamper them. Use your knuckles to press buttons (i.e. elevator buttons, microwave buttons, seatbelt buttons, etc.), and use the pads of your fingertips to type, lift zippers, button shorts, etc. Unlike the square shape, they are not as strong in shape.
  • If you are going to do gel nails, make sure you file even more narrow than you like, because the gel will expand the nails. File a sharper point if you are using gel, because when you cap the edge, it will slightly round out and become more blunt.
  • The design is very simple as far as concept and color. I used black (#04; no extra pigment) and white (#01) in the gel. The glitter is a magenta // dark pink color by Eriko (sorry, I forgot to take a look at the number). I drew and payed out the dripping design initially with acrylic paint, then went over it with the gel to give it more dimension and shine of color. I used two “Chanel” inspired logo holograms: the middle finger on the right hand and ring finger on the left hand. I also threw on some small gold holograms by Eriko on the glitter nails.

    This design is fairly easy to do, and it was SO much fun! I am so happy I got to work on her nails. I love having so much freedom and creativity. Such a beautiful girl with a beautiful soul. I hope you all enjoy them, as well!

    20120920-034428.jpg

    20120920-034437.jpg

    20120920-034443.jpg

    20120920-034454.jpg My trusty gel brushes. THE best.

    So, what do you guys think? Did we pick a good nail design? How do you like it?

    Thanks for visiting, and remember to keep your claws modish!

    Xoxo,
    Stacia

    2 thoughts on “Dripping Hearts

    Leave a Reply

    