It’s a birthday celebration!

Last week Thursday was one of my best best best friends’s birthday. So, I decided I would get her nail-ready for a night out with her hubby.

She’s very much into art and loves Frieda Cahlo and the Dia de Los Muertos themes. About a year ago, I did a day of the dead skull print for myself and she really loved it. So, we decided to go with a pastel & sugar skull theme.

My girl is super super small. And unfortunately that comes with incredibly small fingernails. Not only that, but due to stress, she can’t keep her nails long at all. So, we had to put tip extensions on all 10 fingers and extend them a little. Her nails were too short, so I was unable to use a sculpting form, that’s why we used the plastics tips.

20130206-023628.jpg
Anyone who is trained properly knows not to apply the tip on directly onto the nails, but rather lay a thin layer of gel onto the natural nail, then apply the tip. Tips are difficult bc they need to be sized correctly according to each nail. Applying the tips without air pockets is also key. And last, but not least, blending. Blending is very important and can also be difficult. Blending is especially important when painting the whole nail with gel bc if its not done perfectly, you will be able to see every imperfection.

I haven’t done too many extensions yet, so this was good practice for me. Luckily she is so patient and sat through with me. The end result came out pretty great, and best of all, my bestie loved it!

20130206-024403.jpg

20130206-023905.jpg These are tip extension gel overlay using Trump Gel. The colors are CalGel. The holograms are by Eriko Nails, and I used to regular acrylic paint to hand draw the sugar skulls.

Happy birthday to my wonderful, beautiful bestie! She is an amazing friend, wife, and mother!

Thanks for visiting, and remember to keep your claws modish!

Xoxo,
Stacia

Leave a Reply

